Join the Online Book Clubs

Book Clubs

Read books in your email. New books each week. Sample 2-3 chapters.

Click Here

Buy Dearborn Campaign

Circulation Department

Access LPLD's Online Public Access Catalog NOW!

How to obtain a library card.

Dearborn County Residents:

  • Lawrenceburg Public Library District:
  • Townships of Lawrenceburg, Miller, Logan, Harrison, Jackson, York, Kelso are entitled to a LPLD Borrower's Card free of charge upon presentation of appropriate identification.
  • Aurora Public Library District:
  • Townships of Center, Clay, Caesar Creek, Hogan, Manchester, Sparta, Washington are eligible for a reciprocal LPLD Borrower's Card free of charge upon presentation of their APL card. 

Hamilton County (OH) Residents:

  • The Public Libraries Of Cincinnati And Hamilton County Ends Reciprocal Borrowing
  • LPLD has been formally notified that the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County has decided to discontinue the reciprocal borrowing agreement with the libraries in Dearborn County.
  • Effective January 1, 2010, residents of Dearborn County will be required to pay the $25.00 annual fee in order to receive a borrower’s card from Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County. For those already possessing a card, the fee will need to be paid if individuals choose to renew the card at its expiration..
  • As a result of the agreement’s termination, LPLD will no longer be able to offer cards without charge to resident cardholders of Cincinnati/Hamilton County.
  • The 335 residents of the Cincinnati Hamilton County system who currently have active reciprocal cards with LPLD will be required to pay the LPLD nonresident card fee upon expiration of their existing card.  Under Indiana law that fee is required to be at least the equivalent of the per capita expenditure of the library’s operating budget. Currently the nonresident fee is $55.00.
  • The official notice of this change cited the dramatic decline in state funding coupled with the transition to increased funding by taxpayers of Hamilton County..

Boone County (KY) Residents:

  • The Boone County Public Library have a reciprocity agreement with the Lawrenceburg Public Library District. The agreement provides that a library card holder from the Lawrenceburg Public Library District can receive a free library card good at all branches and the Main Library of the Boone County Public Library with a valid library card and proper identification.

Non Residents of Dearborn County, IN; Hamilton County, OH.; or Boone County, KY:

  • All others wishing to borrow materials must purchase either a Non-resident LPL Borrower's Card or a PLAC (Public Library Access Card). The fees for these cards are set annually by state law. (Currently it is set at $55.00, as of February 2, 2009)
  • Effective January 1, 2012 to December 31, 2012 the PLAC fee is $50

Borrowers cards will be issued on site at any Library circulation desks upon completion of an application and presentation of identification with name and current address. Parents must sign the application for children under the age of 14.

Fines and Fees & Limits

Items Fines & Fees Limits
Books .10 per day 25 per card
Periodicals .10 per day 10 per card
Vertical File Items .10 per day 10 per card
Audio Books and Read Along .10 per day 10 per card
Videos 1.00 per day 10 per household
DVD's 1.00 per day 8 per household
CD's (music) .10 per day 5 per card
CD-ROM's  1.00 per day 3 per household
Photocopies (BW) .10 each  
Photocopies (Color) .35 each  
Genealogy Research 1.00 per page  
Replacement Card 1.00 per card  
Lost or Damaged Items Replacement cost  

A maximum of 50 items per card is allowed.

Remember, you can renew items in person, by phone: 812-537-2775, 812-637-0777 or on our Online Catalog

Renew items from the comfort of home, it is simple.

With our new online catalog, you can now renew items from your user account.  Please access the Online Catalog, Patron Account for more help.

LPLD Services

Yes, we have books, and so much more!

Access LPLD's Online Public Access Catalog!